Apr 23, 2024  

Department of Architecture

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Robert R. Taylor School of Architecture and Construction Science

As stated above, the program of study in architecture is structured as a two plus three year curriculum. The professional degree, Bachelor of Architecture is conferred upon the completion of the total five years of study. The first two years, referred to as the Pre-Professional program, provide students with the proper foundation in general education and liberal arts courses such as English composition, mathematics, physics, world history and humanities. Students also take courses in architectural design, graphics and architectural history during the freshman and sophomore years. Following the completion of the Pre-Professional program, all students must apply for admission to the Professional Program, which begins with the third year.

The final three years make up the Professional Program. In this portion of the curriculum, students take courses in architectural design, environmental control systems, structural design, materials of construction, theory of architecture, urban planning and architectural practice.

Before a sophomore can advance to the third year of the curriculum (first year of the three year Professional Program), the student must file an application which confirms that all first and second year (Pre-Professional Program) courses, except MATH 0207  or MATH 0227 , have been satisfactorily completed. In addition, a cumulative grade point average of 2.25 overall, and a 2.50 in architecture courses must be earned. Students must present portfolios of their graphic work produced during their first two years.

The architectural curriculum is continuously evaluated by its administrators, faculty, and students to insure that it maintains the high standards required by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) and remains sensitive to current significant problems and issues of our society. The program also strives to minimize the traditional schism between the nonacademic and the academic world through design studios, field trips, visiting lecturers and internship guidance.

Transfer applicants for the Architecture Program who receive transfer credit for all courses and requirements of the first two years must meet the same eligibility requirements for admission into the Professional Program as described above. In order to receive transfer credit for a required architecture (ARCH) course, the transfer course must be from a NAAB-accredited architecture program.

National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) Statement

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program(s):

Bachelor of Architecture (B. Arch) (170 undergraduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2017

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Robert R. Taylor School of Architecture and Construction Science